Tutorial: Digitally coloring a hand-drawn line drawing in Photoshop

I’d like to share this special tutoral from Karen B. Jones about coloring a hand-drawn line drawing in Photoshop. I hope that you guys will enjoy!

Karen B. Jones

Ever since I bought my Wacom tablet, I’ve been working pretty exclusively in a digital environment.  It really makes a lot of things easier for me.  But back before my tablet, I would hand-draw the lines for an image and only add the colors on the computer.  I know lots of artists prefer to work that way and I’d like to share a couple of tricks I know to get better results from that process.

First off, you need to scan the drawing to get it into digital format.  I always scan this sort of image in greyscale at 300 resolution.  If you’re going to print the image, 300 dpi is the very minimum you want to work with.  It doesn’t hurt to make it even higher.

Let’s start with a challenge.  Let’s say that the image is too large to fit on your scanner’s bed.  As long as you…

View original post 580 more words

Leave a Reply

